2019 PW Reader Awards: Match of the Year Results


The decade has finally come to an end, and the votes have been tallied. In an incredibly close decision, WALTER’s epic defense of the NXT UK Championship against Tyler Bate has earned the title of 2019 PW Reader Awards: Match of the Year.

Throughout the last two weeks of December, we ran several promotion-specific Match of the Year polls for WWE, AEW, Impact Wrestling, Ring of Honor, and New Japan Pro-Wrestling, as well as regional polls for Europe and Japan’s independent scenes.

The winner and runner-up from each of those polls were collected into one final poll to determine the ultimate Match of the Year, determined by more than 1,800 of our readers. Here’s how the voting broke down:

  • Tyler Bate vs. WALTER (NXT UK Takeover: Cardiff) – 15%
  • Cody vs. Dustin Rhodes (AEW Double or Nothing) – 14%
  • Adam Cole vs. Johnny Gargano (NXT Takeover XXV) – 12.1%
  • Jay White vs. Kota Ibushi (G1 Climax Day #19) – 11.2%
  • LAX vs. Lucha Bros. (Impact: Homecoming) – 9.7%
  • David Starr vs. Jordan Devlin (OTT 5th Anniversary) – 8.3%
  • Kazuchika Okada vs. Will Ospreay (G1 Climax Day #7) – 8.1%
  • Sami Callihan vs. Tessa Blanchard (Impact: Slammiversary) – 4.8%
  • Jeff Cobb vs. Shane Taylor (ROH 17th Anniversary) – 4.5%
  • Jon Moxley vs. Kenny Omega (AEW Full Gear) – 3.8%
  • Jordan Devlin vs. WALTER (OTT Scrappermania 5) – 3.4%
  • Daisuke Sekimoto vs. Michael Elgin (BJW 8/24) – 2.1%
  • Briscoes vs. Guerrillas of Destiny (ROH Summer Supercard) – 2.1%
  • Kzy vs. PAC (Dragon Gate: Truth Gate) – 1.0%

Based on 1,865 total votes collected.