Hiromu Takahashi Wins 2018 Best of the Super Juniors in a Masterpiece; IWGP Jr. Title Match Set For NJPW Dominion


After three grueling weeks of action, featuring sixteen of the greatest junior heavyweight wrestlers collected from all around the world, Hiromu Takahashi closed out the annual NJPW Best of the Super Juniors today at Korakuen Hall with an absolutely incredible, unbelievable victory over Bullet Club’s “Bone Soldier”, Taiji Ishimori to win the prestigious tournament for the very first time.

Hiromu will join the long list of iconic names that have come before him, starting in 1988 with the great student of Giant Baba and three-time IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion Shiro Koshinaka, extending through the years to legitimate junior heavyweight legends such as Jushin Thunder Liger, Eddie Guerrero, Chris Benoit (as Wild Pegasus), Koji Kanemto, El Samurai and Tiger Mask.

Over the past decade, the Super Juniors tournament has produced some of the biggest stars in modern wrestling, many of which have gone on to become multiple-time champions and even major WWE Superstars. That list includes future Hall of Famers like Finn Balor, Kota Ibushi, Will Ospreay, Ricochet and the Ace of the juniors division, Kushida.

Hiromu finished block competition on Sunday morning in Tokyo with a final record of 5-2 with hard-fought wins over Chris Sabin, Kushida, “The Villain” Marty Scurll, Ryusuke Taguchi and Sho of Roppongi 3K. His only two losses came at the hands of perhaps his greatest career rival Dragon Lee and El Desperado of the Suzuki-Gun faction.

With this victory, the absurd enigma of Los Ingobernables de Japon not only earns the respect and honor of being included in the records books with these aforementioned icons, but he will go on to NJPW Dominion this Saturday to face Will Ospreay for the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship, in what will surely be a must-see match for the ages.