Hiromu Takahashi Wins Back Title in Wrestle Kingdom Return


>>> Complete Wrestle Kingdom Night 1 Results <<<

In the third of four consecutive title changes that took place on night one of Wrestle Kingdom 14, Hiromu Takahashi defeated Will Ospreay in his return to the Tokyo Dome to become the new IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Champion.

The odds seamed stacked against the returning “Time Bomb” as he spent the last 17 months on the injured list, while Ospreay continued to rise up the ranks in New Japan Pro-Wrestling, becoming one of the single best wrestlers on the planet in 2019.

Throughout the match, Ospreay seemed almost desperate, resorting to repeatedly attacking his opponent’s surgically repaired neck to the point where the referee nearly stopped the action at multiple points. In the end, it was Hiromu that busted out a brand new finishing maneuver – a modified variation on a package piledriver that may be called Time Bomb II – scoring him the win.

Takahashi’s return to the championship came after Jon Moxley regained the IWGP U.S. Heavyweight Champion from Lance Archer in a Texas Street Fight. The IWGP Heavyweight Tag Team Championships also changed hands, with David Finlay and Juice Robinson defeating the Guerrillas of Destiny.