Hiroshi Tanahashi Wins ‘Tokyo Sports’ 2018 MVP Award, Okada/Omega Win Best Bout For ‘Seven Star’ Title Match & More


For the fourth time in his career the “Ace” of New Japan Pro Wrestling, Hiroshi Tanahashi, has won the Tokyo Sports MVP Award.

In a landslide decision based on the voting of 23 pro wrestling journalists, the 42-year-old legend secured the coveted award for the first time since 2014. This also makes eight consecutive years that New Japan took home the prize. Tanahashi took 18 of the votes, with Kenny Omega earning three, and Kazuchika Okada earning two.

Omega and Okada won the Best Bout Award (formerly Match of the Year) for their incredible Two Out of Three Falls match at NJPW Dominion, where Omega finally got his big win to capture the IWGP Heavyweight Championship.

Tetsuya Naito won the 2018 Technique Award, Naomichi Marafuji of NOAH won the Outstanding Performance Award, Kaito Kiyomiya won the Fighting Spirit Award, and All Japan’s Shuji Ishikawa and Suwama won the Best Tag Team Award.

On the joshi side (women’s wrestling), Utami Hayashishita took home the Newcomer Award for World Wonder Ring Stardom, and Tsukasa Fujimoto of Ice Ribbon won the Joshi Puroresu Grand Prize, which has been won by Io Shirai for the past three years in a row.