NJPW Announces 32 Competitors & Full Bracket For 2020 New Japan Cup


New Japan Pro-Wrestling has announced the complete bracket and lineup for this year’s New Japan Cup, kicking off on March 4th at Korakuen Hall.

The single-elimination tournament dates back to Hiroshi Tanahashi’s inaugural win in 2005. Every year since 2006 has seen the winner receive an opportunity to challenge for the IWGP Heavyweight Championship, resulting in five major title changes.

Kazuchika Okada won the 2019 New Japan Cup, the largest in history with a total of 32 competitors. He went on to recapture the world title from “Switchblade” Jay White in the main event of G1 Supercard at Madison Square Garden.

This year’s tournament will once again see a massive field of 32 competitors. Impressively, every single one of them are mainstays for the NJPW roster, although Colt Cabana is primarily known as an “ROH guy” and Jeff Cobb is technically a free agent at the moment.

Scroll down for the complete 2020 New Japan Cup bracket.

The tournament will take place over 13 dates starting on March 4th in Tokyo. The first 4 shows will each feature 4 first round matches, and the second round will be spread out with 2 matches on each show. The finals take place on Saturday, March 21st.

According to NJPWWorld.com’s schedule for March, the entire tournament including all 13 shows will be broadcast live on their streaming service including English commentary for every single event.