NJPW Announces 4-Day Tournament To Crown New NEVER 6-Man Tag Champions


While the New Japan Pro-Wrestling roster is taking a short break this week, the King of Sport returns this Thursday for the start of a four-day run of shows at Korakuen Hall, streaming live on NJPW World.

In a press conference earlier this weekend, it was announced that the shows will feature a tournament to crown new NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Champions.

The titles were recently held by Los Ingobernables de Japon, but with EVIL defecting to Bullet Club and winning the IWGP Heavyweight and IWGP Intercontinental titles, it was decided that the trios belts would be vacated.

While the NEVER 6-Man titles haven’t exactly been positioned as prestigiously as most of New Japan’s primary championships, they are pulling out all the stops with some surprisingly stacked trios heading into the four-night tournament.

August 6 (Quarterfinals)

  • CHAOS (Kazuchika Okada, Toru Yano & SHO) vs. Bullet Club (Gedo, Jado & Yujiro Takahashi)
  • Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI, SANADA & Shingo Takagi) vs. Suzuki-Gun (Minoru Suzuki, El Desperado & DOUKI)

August 7 (Quarterfinals)

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kota Ibushi & Master Wato vs. Suzuki-Gun (Taichi, Zack Sabre Jr. & Yoshinobu Kanemaru)
  • Tomoaki Honma, Ryusuke Taguchi & Togi Makabe vs. CHAOS (Hirooki Goto, Tomohiro Ishii & YOSHI-HASHI)

August 8 (Semifinals)

  • [Winner of CHAOS vs. Bullet Club] vs. [Winner of LIJ vs. Suzuki-Gun]
  • [Winner of Golden Aces vs. Suzuki-Gun] vs. [Winner of Taguchi Japan vs. CHAOS]

August 9 (Finals)

  • TBD