NJPW Announces Full List of Competitors for 2018 G1 Climax; Omega, Okada, Two Big First-Time Debuts & More


New Japan Pro Wrestling has officially announced all 20 competitors for the 2018 G1 Climax tournament, kicking off in Tokyo on Saturday, July 14th. The final blocks will be announced Monday morning, dividing the talent pool into two groups of ten superstars.

After finally defeating Kazuchika Okada to become the new IWGP Heavyweight Champion, Kenny Omega will make his third consecutive G1 appearance. Okada and Tetsuya Naito will round out the top spots, with Hiroshi Tanahashi making his extraordinary 17th consecutive appearance. Kota Ibushi will also return for his fourth G1 Climax, so it will be interesting to see if NJPW keeps the Golden Lovers apart, or perhaps teases a confrontation in the finals. Jay White will be makes his first ever appearance in the annual tournament, as will Hangman Page.

Check out the full list below:

  • IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kenny Omega
  • IWGP U.S. Heavyweight Champion Jay White
  • NEVER Openweight Champion Michael Elgin
  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Togi Makabe
  • Juice Robinson
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • Hirooki Goto
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Toru Yano
  • Yoshi-Hashi
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Tama Tonga
  • Hangman Page
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • EVIL
  • Sanada
  • Minoru Suzuki
  • Zack Sabre Jr.
  • Kota Ibushi