NJPW Announces This Year’s G1 Climax Blocks: Kenny Omega vs Kota Ibushi Confirmed, First Time Ever Bouts & More


New Japan Pro Wrestling has officially announced the blocks for this year’s G1 Climax tournament, kicking off on Saturday, July 14th. As noted, there will be English commentary for every single one of the 19 events scheduled to take place during the month-long tour, with all of them airing live via New Japan World.

A major factor in this year’s tournament will be the presence of IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kenny Omega, who has landed in the B Block. What we know for sure is that he will NOT be facing Kazuchika Okada again, unless both men win their blocks and face off in the finals. Omega will, however, be facing his Golden Lovers partner Kota Ibushi, in a dream match that’s been talked about for years. The champion will also face fellow Bullet Club member Tama Tonga, plus a rematch with Tetsuya Naito, and a first ever encounter with Zack Sabre Jr.

The A Block will be a very interesting story as well, in particular because of a guarnateed Okada/Tanahashi rematch, and the Rainmaker being forced to battle his CHAOS faction partner Jay White for the first time ever. We’ll also see long-time friends Tanahashi and Michael Elgin do battle, and Hangman Page will step into the G1 for the first time ever having to survive several former heavyweight champions, Bullet Club’s Bad Luck Fale and the sadistic Minoru Suzuki.

Below are the full blocks for G1 Climax 28. For those unknown with how the tournament works, it’s round robin-style, so if you’re trying to figure what matchups to look forward to, it’s easy – everyone will fight every member of their block once, and the block winners face off in the finals on night 19.

A Block

  • Hiroshi Tanahashi
  • Togi Makabe
  • Michael Elgin
  • Kazuchika Okada
  • IWGP North American Champion Jay White
  • Yoshi-Hashi
  • Bad Luck Fale
  • Hangman Page
  • EVIL
  • Minoru Suzuki

B Block

  • Juice Robinson
  • NEVER Openweight Champion Hirooki Goto
  • Tomohiro Ishii
  • Toru Yano
  • IWGP Heavyweight Champion Kenny Omega
  • Kota Ibushi
  • Tama Tonga
  • Tetsuya Naito
  • Sanada
  • Zack Sabre Jr.