NJPW & CMLL Sending Teams To Compete In 2019 NWA Crockett Cup


It has been officially confirmed that both New Japan Pro-Wrestling and CMLL from Mexico will be sending teams to compete in the upcoming rebirth of the Jim Crockett Sr. Memorial Cup Tag Team Tournament, better known as the Crockett Cup.

The original trio of Crockett Cup events from 1986 to 1988 featured 24 tag teams battling in single elimination tournaments spread across multiple days/sessions. While no details have been released on the format of this year’s event, the fact that it is only scheduled for one night suggests it will be considerably trimmed down.

So far, Crimson and Jax Dane (collectively known as The War Kings) are the only names to have qualified from the NWA. Brody King and PCO of Marty Scurll’s Villain Enterprises faction have also qualified from Ring of Honor.

Read More
First Two Nights of Matches Announced for OWE United Kingdom TV Tapings

As previously reported, a whole host of NWA legends will be appearing at the Crockett Cup including Magnum T.A., the Midnight Express, Nakita Koloff and the Rock ‘n’ Roll Express. Jim Cornett will also be in attendance, providing color commentary alongside Ian Riccaboni and Joe Galli.