NJPW New Beginning In Osaka Results (2/9): Tetsuya Naito vs KENTA, Jon Moxley vs Minoru Suzuki


New Japan Pro-Wrestling

The New Beginning in Osaka
February 9, 2020

1. Yuji Nagata, Hiryoshi Tenzan, Manabu Nakanishi & Satoshi Kojima def. Ryusuke Taguchi, Toa Henare, Tomoaki Honma & Togi Makabe

2. Roppongi 3K (c)(SHO & YOH) def. Suzuki-Gun (Yoshinobu Kanemaru & El Desperado) to retain the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Tag Team Championships. 

3. Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kota Ibushi, Juice Robinson & David Finlay def. Bullet Club (Chase Owens, Yujiro Takahashi, Tama Tonga & Tanga Loa)

Tanahashi scored the win blocking Ape Shit and rolling up Tanga Loa. Bullet Club put the boots to him over the match, until Ibushi came off the top rope with a double missile dropkick. FinJuice cleaned house. Tanahashi pinned one half of the tag team champions, so he and Ibushi look to be next in line for a shot at the gold, but there was perhaps a bit of uneasiness between them and FinJuice over who should be next.

4. Kazuchika Okada & Will Ospreay def. Suzuki-Gun (Taichi & Zack Sabre Jr.)

Suzuki-Gun controlled most of the action after double-teaming Ospreay and attacking him outside of the ring, taking him out of the equation early. Finish saw Ospreay rally back and hit a hook kick and the Oscutter on Taichi, before doing a Sasuke Special taking out ZSJ on the outside. Okada connected with the Rainmaker to seal the deal.

5. Jay White def. SANADA

The match was built around SANADA setting up for the Skull End, and having to fight off the usual dastardly tactics of White on top of outside interference from Gedo. He did everything he could and looked to have it won after applying Skull End, but it wasn’t enough. He got several very close nearfalls with bridging pinning combinations, but it wasn’t enough. SANADA missed the moonsault, White hit Blade Runner and won.

6. Hiromu Takahashi (c) def. Ryu Lee to retain the IWGP Jr. Heavyweight Championship.

Well, nobody broke their neck this time, so far as we know. Instead they spent the first portion of the match turning each other’s chests into raw hamburger meat, and the second portion of the match doing the most insane things they could think of. At one point Lee sat Takahashi on the barricade and did a giant suicide dive from inside of the ring, spearing both of them into the commentary tables. In the end they did about a hundred German suplexes. Lee teased the Phoenix Plex multiple times (the move that broke Takahashi’s neck) but the champ had counters prepared. It took multiple Time Bombs, but he finally got the job done. Extraordinary match.

7. Jon Moxley (c) def. Minoru Suzuki to retain the IWGP U.S. Heavyweight Championship.

Suzuki is a demon from another dimension. Moxley put him through tables, smashed his head with an unprotected chair shot, hit multiple Dirty Deeds, and every time the dude just kept getting back up with a sick, masochistic smile on his face. Most of the time he was actually laughing. Moxley did eventually win but it took him two Death Riders/Paradigm Shifts, which might have been the first time the high-angle version of the move was kicked out of.

After the match Mox gave Suzuki a huge sign of respect, bowing to him as he freaked out and terrorized the fans at ringside. Zack Sabre Jr. then snuck into the ring and applied a sleeper hold, putting Mox to sleep before posing with the U.S. title. I’m ready!

8. Tetsuya Naito (c) def. KENTA to retain the IWGP Heavyweight Championship and IWGP Intercontinental Championship.

KENTA came out with every single member of Bullet Club in the building. They pushed around the referee until he threw them out. Of course Jay White would run out later on and get involved, but he was fought off by Hiromu Takahashi. It turned into a blood bath in the end, as Naito hit an exposed turnbuckle and immediately turned into a fountain of blood. We’re talking the full Crimson Mask. He still kicked out of everything KENTA threw at him, and eventually won the match with Destino to retain.

After the match he called out Hiromu Takahashi. As is tradition, the annual NJPW anniversary show will featuring a non-title special singles match between the heavyweight champion and the juniors champion. This year it’s extra unique, as it just so happens that both stars are top members of Los Ingobernables de Japon.