Super Jr. Tag League Finals Set for NJPW Power Struggle, Updated Match Card


After thirteen events spread out across the last sixteen days, the grueling Road to Power Struggle has finally arrived at its destination, and the 2019 Super Jr. Tag League is almost over.

Eight teams participated in this year’s round robin tournament, which came to a close at today’s show in Osaka with the final three matches.

As it stands there are three teams who are all standing at the top of the pack with ten points. The Bullet Club team of Taiji Ishimori and El Phantasmo has been mathmatically eliminated from the finals because their only two losses were to the other first place teams.

That leaves El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru representing Suzuki-Gun to take on SHO and YOH at this Sunday’s NJPW Power Struggle event at Edion Arena. Roppongi 3K will be looking to win the tournament for the third year in a row.

Here’s the final Tag League breakdown:

  • El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru – 10
  • Roppongi 3K – 10
  • Taiji Ishimori & El Phantasmo – 10
  • Will Ospreay & Robbie Eagles – 8
  • Volador & Titan – 8
  • Ryusuke Taguchi & Rocky Romero – 8
  • TJP & Clark Connors – 2
  • Tiger Mask & Yuya Uemura – 0

And here’s the updated match card for Sunday’s show. The full card and order of matches will be announced this weekend ahead of bell-time:

— Jay White (c) vs. Hirooki Goto

— KENTA (c) vs. Tomohiro Ishii

— Tetsuya Naito vs. Taichi

— Kazuchika Okada & YOSHI-HASHI vs. Kota Ibushi & Hiroshi Tanahashi

— Roppongi 3K vs. El Desperado & Yoshinobu Kanemaru